Ratification Status for the Coe Additional Protocol

In addition to the Cybercrime Convention, the Council of Europe also developed the first additional protocol to the Cybercrime Convention on the criminalisation of acts of a racist or xenophobic nature committed through computer systems (ETS No. 189).

Ratification Status for the Additional Protocol as of April 2008

32 Member States (including the external supporters Canada, and South Africa) have signed the Additional Protocol since it was opened to signature in January 2003, only 11 Member States (Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cyprus, Denmark, France,  Latvia, Lithuania, Slovenia, Ukraine, and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) have ratified the Additional Protocol as of April 2008.

Following the initial five ratifications the Additional Protocol came into force on March 1, 2006. The UK is not among the Member States who have signed it so far.

For further information about the Additional Protocol see the following:

Be the first to comment on "Ratification Status for the Coe Additional Protocol"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.